Wiki

Case Status
Log In

Wiki

 
Community Tools»Manage Content Tool
  • RSS Feed

Last modified on 11/14/2017 2:01 PM by User.

Manage Content Tool

The Manage Content tool allows administrators to create new content pages, change their position within the navigation bar, add links to the navigation bar, create forms, and create sub-menus. This tool also enables admins to publish pages to different roles, creating public and secret pages within your Conference Manager site.

The pane on the left of the screen shows all content pages already created, and the hierarchy of pages.  All content pages, links and forms are nested under one main parent page: the community home page.  To select an item, tick the radio button next to the page or link name.

Creating and Deleting Items

To create a new content page or a new form to your Conference Manager website, click Add New Page or Add New Form.  The new page or form will be nested under the item which is currently selected. New pages will have have the title New Page, show a blank page, and be un-published by default. For more information on building and using forms, see Forms.

To add a new link, click Add New Link. This will also be nested under the currently selected item.  The new link will have the title New Link and will not point to an active page.

To delete any item, select the item by clicking the radio button next to its name, and then click Delete Page.  You will be prompted to confirm that you want to delete this item. Once an item has been deleted it cannot be recovered.

Moving and Nesting Items


Changing the order of your content pages changes the order and nests the pages that appear in the navigation bar of your Conference Manager website. You can move and nest items to make it easier for people to find key information about the conference.

To change the order of pages, select the item that you want to move and click the Move Up and Move Down buttons. Each step moves the item up or down in the sequence by one position.

The Promote and Demote options nest or un-nest items in your navigation structure. Demoting a page will nest that page under the page immediately above it. If the parent page is not published, the child page will not be visible from the navigation structure, but you will still be able to link to it. This is a great way to create secret pages - for example, a registration information page with secret discount codes for sponsors.

Select a page and then click Add New Page to create a new page nested under an existing page.

Pages can be nested under nested items, allowing as simple or as complex a navigation structure as you need.

In the image on the left, the Conference Home Page and Conference Information pages will be visible to all users. The Secret Discount Codes page is only visible to administrators. The Registration Information for Sponsors and Members are visible by anyone, but the links are not visible from anywhere on the website.

Publishing and Unpublishing Pages

Every page in your community will be visible to you while you are logged in as an administrator. To make pages available to other people, you must publish the pages. This allows you to keep pages private while you and your conference team are adding and editing the content, and unpublishing allows you to make information invisible when it is no longer used without completely deleting it.

Conference Manager also allows you to publish pages to different groups, creating "secret" content for special audiences. As an example, you might create a page for abstract reviewers with detailed information about the review criteria that was only visible by reviewers. To do so, you would publish the page, and select the Reviewers role on the next page.

When you click Publish, you are prompted to select which Roles you wish to make the page available to. To publish the page for everyone to see, select all of the roles. Visitors to your website who are not logged in or who do not already have accounts are classed under the Public role. Note that if you publish a page only to the Public role, other types of users who are logged in - such as members or reviewers - will not be able to see the page until you publish it to their roles too.

Once a page is unpublished, it is no longer visible by any user other than an administrator. You can use this option to temporarily remove information you may want access to at a later date.

The icons next to each item change depending on whether they are published (coloured in icon) or unpublished (white icon, may or may not have a diagonal strike through it). This is a useful, quick way of checking the published status of your pages, forms, and links.